Logo Imatra Circuit
 06/22/2019 - Imatra Results
Kenny Roberts Imatra 79

Imatra, third leg of the ICGP 2019 championship

General Ranking

ICGP laid its tires on the mythical Imatra circuit last weekend.
This trip brings us thirty years back with this crossing from Travemunde in Germany to Helsinki harbour and finally the last 250 kilometers to get to the track.

The paddock is still the same and a very friendly mood greets our pilots.
Sign in at the hotel and setup Thursday whilst waiting for friday's free practice.

Tepi Lansivuori honours us by participating to our race and for the occasion rides on a TZ H 250. With 22 pilots on the grid, the ICGP is well represented.

La séance du vendredi se passe sans encombres, les pilotes découvrent le circuit et les réactions sont plutôt positives.

Saturday morning, 1st qualifying session on a wet track, the positions settle quickly and it's Peter Linden who makes best time in front of Pasi Huomanen and Colin Sleigh.

2nd session, the track is drying and its a local pilot, Timo Paavilainen, previous World Championship Endurance rider who takes pole position in front of Colin Sleigh on his 250 and Jean Paul Lecointe who fills the front row.


First race

6.30pm start of the 1st race under the rain, Paavilainen takes lead and creates a considerable gap on Peter Linden and Jean Paul Lecointe.
Brake trouble and a broken chain forces him to retire form the race, leaving free rein to Peter Linden for a while, who will in turn run out of fuel on the last lap but fortunately managed to finish.
Astonishingly it's Sefan Tennstadt on his Rotax 250 who takes fist position fo the first time since ICGP's creation.
Jean paul Lecointe and Pasi Huomanen complete the podium, Peter Linden ends up 4th in font of Colin Sleigh, 2nd 250, and Stuart Thomas winner of the YC 250 class, Bob Keller ends up 3rd of the 250cc category.


Second race

Sunday, this time under a sunny weather. Ian Simpson who didn't start the first race, leaves second to last on the grid and manages to take the lead of the race as soon as the 2nd lap, followed by Jean Paul Lecointe and Peter Linden who are vying for lead, Robert Burns who started off badly gets back to 4th position despite heavy pressure from Jorge Herrera.

In 250cc Stefan Tennstadt wins in front of the Australian Grant Boxhall and Bernard Tabarly.
Stuart Thomas ends up 5th overall and wins the YC 250 class.

A wondeful weekend, a great organisation, presentation of the prizes under the marquee the evening and surprise cash prizes were given to the 3 first in addition to the trophies!!

Everyone delighted with this adventure, we'll meet again end of July in Donington for the next ICGP race!

L’ICGP thanks its partners : Dautel Cadot Champagne, Nextraining, Yamaha, FFM.

logo Dautel Cadot   logo Nextraining   logo yamaha motor franc   logo ffm


Classification :
350cc 250cc
Race 1: Race 2: Race 1: Race 2:
1st: Jean-Paul Lecointe Ian Simpson Stefan Tennstadt Stefan Tennstadt
2nd: Pasi Huomanen Jean Paul Lecointe Colin Sleigh Grant Boxhall
3rd: Peter Linden Peter Linden Bob Keller Bernard Tabarly
Best lap: Pasi Huomanen
Ian Simpson
Stefan Tennstadt
Colin Sleigh