It's on Paul Ricard circuit in France on 04 / 06 April qthat took place thefirst round of 2014 ICGP Championship.

General ranking

Back to Paul Ricard !

It's under a spring sun that took place the first race of the 2014 season for the 45 drivers on the circuit Paul Ricard , who used this year the route of 5.8 km , the same as the one used for her first ICGP race in 1999.

For this 15th anniversary races were at the height of the class until the last lap whether in class 250 or 350.

For practices the French Guy Bertin wins the pole position ahead of Cipriani and Bernard Fau, 3 former Grand Prix drivers on the 1st row !
250cc is the defending champion Austrian Werner Reuberger takes pole ahead of Colin Sleigh and Marc Auboiron . Eric Saul is found in the ninth row , only 1 lap during practices was not sufficient for a good position on the grid ! Belgian Yves Hecq fall heavily during practices a water leak and cannot take the start , we wish him a speedy recovery.

It's Christian Sarron , world champion in 1984 which gives the start of the first race on Saturday afternoon in front of a large and enthusiastic audience. Bertin took the lead of the race in 350 but he did not finish the race because of a broken crankshaft on the last lap when he was 16 seconds ahead of Cipriani , so this one goes on the first step of the podium followed by Antony Hart and Ian Simpson the 2013 titleholder . 250cc Reuberger Werner won the race ahead of Colin Sleigh and Eric Saul who starts from the 9 th line and has done a good comeback clinching the 250 lap record.

Giacomo Agostini, 15 times World Champion gave the trophies on the rostrum excited about this season opener sun drivers. In the evening a huge buffet is organized in the box of the ICGP or more than 150 people , drivers and crew toast to the new season , champagne Dautel partner in the series is served chilled to the delight of the participants.

Sunday noon the sun is always waiting for you and riders starts at 14.15 for the second race this weekend.

The grid is the same as for the previous race , Guy Bertin take the lead and this time ends undisputed winner of this race ahead of Cipriani over 12 seconds Antony Hart completes the podium. In 250 it was the German Stefan Tennstadt who wins in front of Werner Reuberger ( lap record ) and Eric Saul , finishing on the podium again and getting the standings of the Masters category devoted to more than 55 years.

Steve Baker World Champion gave the trophies for this second race , no injuries report this weekend that ends in good conditions.

Next event will be held on 3 and 4 May for the second race in Holland on the circuit Hengelo.

350cc Race 1 :

  1. Cipriani (I)
  2. Hart (GB)
  3. Simpson (GB)

350cc Race 2 :

  1. Bertin (F)
  2. Cipriani (I)
  3. Hart (GB)

250cc Race 1 :

  1. Reuberger (A
  2. Sleigh (GB
  3. Saul (F)

250cc Race 2 :

  1. Tennstadt (D)
  2. Reuberger (A)
  3. Saul (F)